Defending champions Ballybay Community College booked their place in their second consecutive Masita Brother Ignatius Rice cup courtesy of a 1-7 to 2 points win over a much fancied St Farnan’s PP, Prosperous, Co. Kildare. The game was played in horrible conditions and Ballybay playing with the wind managed to lead at the break 0-5 to 0-1. Once Daragh Dempsey netted in the second half the writing was on the wall for the Kildare and Leinster champions. Ballybay will now play either Dunmore Community School or Beara Community School on Saturday 21st March.
Ballybay Community College team and scorers:
Ryan Johnston, Thomas McPhilips, Mark Hughes, Thomas Keenan, Eoin Duffy (0-1), Aaron Hamilton, James Hughes (0-1), Shane Slevin, James Slevin, Julius Sniauksta (0-1), Dara McCann, Darragh McElearney (Capt), Michael Coyle, Tristan Keenan (0-1), Darragh Dempsey(1-3, 0-2 from frees).
Subs used: Ryan Duffy for Aaron Hamilton, James McAdam for Tristan Keenan, Cian Hughes for James Hughes. A full report can be found on the sports pages.